This Beverage Is Perhaps Not My Favorite Beverage

2

July 11, 2012 by rapoulson

One of the weirdly wonderful things about living in Williamsburg is the Hipster Bodega. They look just like a regular bodega, but they sell Pirates Booty and chocolates from Austria. I haven’t really been feeling the Diet Coke lately (which is odd, considering I have a very serious ten year relationship with it) but I was sick of drinking water all day, so I was in the hipster bodega and I picked up some Beyond Kombucha.

I’m not really sure why I thought I would like Beyond Kombucha. I’m not even that big into Kombucha. I mean, it’s fine, but the last time I remember purchasing it was in like Septemeber. It’s not something I need every day, and it’s certainly not something I need to go “beyond”.

You have to use a bottle opener to open Beyond Kombucha, which is a minus in that I couldn’t drink any on the 20 ft walk from the hipster bodega to my apartment, but a plus in that it made me feel fancy. So I opened the bottle, which made a very satisfying sound and I took my first sip and…is it possible I just drank the scoby?

Again, I’m not a Kombucha expert but is that something they do? Might the scoby just be in my Kombucha? Because I deffinitely drank something slimy with that first sip and I’m not sure how down I am with that. After I got over the sliminess (it wasn’t recurrent) it tasted pretty much like beer. Which is fine, I like beer. But I expect beer to get me buzzy. It was pretty yeasty, with some sweetness and floral notes from the Rooibos. It’s just pretty non-noteworthy, I should have stuck with my usual extra-spicy ginger beer. I will say this for Beyond Kombucha–it is spectacularly effervescent. That’s some pretty fun fizz they’ve got going on there.

I Googled Beyond Kombucha to get this image and found out they were a nice little start up in Queens and now I feel bad for posting this unenthusiastic review on my blog that no one reads. They have a bunch of different flavors, so go buy them, I’m sure they’re great, support your local brewers. Just steer clear of the Rooibos Honeybush–or don’t. It’s clearly been established that I know jack about Kombucha.

2 thoughts on “This Beverage Is Perhaps Not My Favorite Beverage

  1. lizforaday says:

    You should not feel bad about posting your opinion. It is what it is. I don’t think I would want to drink anything slimmy. So…good lookin out! 🙂 I rely on people like you who tell the truth, to help me make good decisions.

  2. sfmosaic says:

    i’m with you…kombucha? not my bevy of choice. other fermented products perhaps….
    i love the spit take gif!

Leave a Reply

