Salad o’ The Week

7

July 9, 2012 by rapoulson

Okay, so the picture above is not today’s Salad o’the Week, but it is the original Salad o’the Week and it’s the inspiration for my lunch today. You guys should make that salad too.

I don’t have an office, I spend most of my day wandering between the gym, class, work, mics, meetings (okay, I’m not that important, I rarely have meetings) and various coffee shops where I can steal WiFi. Since not becoming destitute* or obese from buying sandwiches is something that’s fairly important to me, I tend to go for lunches that I can pack in cute Mason jars and not feel like a gross asshat eating in the park.

Every Monday, I make a giant salad and eat it for about four lunches during the week. Since I want my salad to last a long time, I avoid a lot of traditional salad ingredients, like…ummm..leaves…I make grain salads, bean salads, panzanella Caprese salads (what? I get bread and cheese? I don’t know how that still gets to be called a salad, but that shit is delicious so go with it)

The first salad I made when I decided I was going to make this a regular thing was the above Asparagus Grain Salad from the Kitchn. Today, I’m using the same grain blend–half farro (Yay, fiber and iron!) and half whole wheat Israeli couscous but I’m switching out everything else so goes something like this:

-1 cup farro

-1 cup whole wheat Israeli couscous

-3/4 cup dried cherries (I chopped them in half because I prefer more bites of cherry to giant clumps of cherry)

-Gorgonzola (Umm…like a two thirds of the pkg, so like a flip-phone sized amount). Not crumbled Gorgonzola, which I always find disappointing. I bought the good stuff and chunked it up myself

-about 1 1/2 cups edamame (note: the farro and couscous measurements are dry and they obviously made a lot more, I don’t want you to think I’m eating a weird edamame dominant salad all week)

Dress with olive oil and balsamic.

It is super delicious and substantial. I have no idea what the Nutrition Facts would be, I could figure it out, but I don’t really care that much. I care that I’m eating a Mason jar full of things that I like that won’t actively try to kill me.

The edamame was from a bag in my freezer that had a price tag from Duane Reade on it. When did I buy edamame at a drug store? Why? That is so shady…and yet I wouldn’t put it past me. They’re kind of freakishly green and remind me of the aliens in Toy Story.

*You guys don’t know how much I love sandwiches. I really could bankrupt myself buying sandwiches. I live in constant anticipation of that Panera Bread finally opening in Union Square.

7 thoughts on “Salad o’ The Week

  1. Little Sis says:

    That looks beautiful. Thanks for sharing. I’ve not tried farro yet, but this makes it more tempting.

  2. lizforaday says:

    I have never heard of Farro before. I am going to have to Google that now. 🙂 I love trying new foods.

  3. Angela says:

    I’ve been on a quinoa kick for a while cause it’s another lazy grain (15 minute simmer), so I’ll have to try farro too. Shredded kale is awesome in these kinda salads- it tastes better after it’s soaked in dressing for a while.

    • Oooh that might get me over my Kale phobia. I’ve been wanting to try it, but steamed or sauteed as a side doesn’t really thrill me. I’m big into quinoa too, Trader Joe’s has a bag of roasted veggies in balsamic dressing, I do that over quinoa and throw in some fresh herbs if I’m feeling fancy.

  4. That salad looks delicious. Also I could live on Panera. They make salads too and you can get a big hunk of bread to go with it. Win/win in my book!

    • When I first moved to New York I projected a lot of my homesickness onto the lack of Panera. Then I got an internship in Hoboken and I’d walk a mile from the office every week for the deliciousness and WiFi!

Leave a Reply

