Hooligan Goes Back to Basics

Leave a comment

July 6, 2012 by rapoulson

 

My face looks kinda like this right now. But instead of pie and burgers and what appears to be a shit ton of ketchup, I’m eating delicious curry. On Sunday I bought a bottle of that Trader Joe’s yellow Thai curry sauce and threw it in the wok with a can of chickpeas, a zucchini, a yellow squash, some carrots, mushrooms, onions, pineapple and snap peas and let it simmer. That’s right, folks, I simmered this stuff for a full 25 minutes. Because I’m a grown up and I don’t need instant gratification. I even froze half of it for later. This is what adulthood tastes like…and it is delicious.

But seriously, my face looks like Patrick’s right now. And I’m watching What Not to Wear. Thankfully, Stacey and Clinton can’t see me through the TV.

Anyway, I had a really good class this morning. Fridays I normally try to hit my favorite Anusara class at Crunch, but this week, I had a Groupon to Greenhouse Holistic (http://greenhouseholistic.com/index.html) that was about to expire. Greenhouse has two studios within a five minute walk from my house, so for the past week I’ve been hitting Greenhouse classes whenever I can, frequently two a day.

When I bought the Groupon, I took two classes and…I hated them, I just figured the studio wasn’t for me. But a friend of mine who’s practiced there for a long time encouraged me to try her teachers and now I’m totally addicted. I’m really sad my Groupon ends tomorrow and I’m seriously considering a membership.

Like a lot of hooligans  people, I came to yoga from a dance and gymnastics background. I figured I was already super bendy and had great balance, so I decided to skip the intro classes. This was super dumb. You guys, I’ve cultivated so many bad habits trying to push myself too hard too soon, I don’t even want to talk about it. And muscle memory makes it so they’re not very easy to leave behind.

This week, since I’m hitting the mat pretty hard and I go to class whenever I can get one in, I’ve taken a lot of Basic level classes, with really excellent teachers. And it’s been fantastic, to just really focus on alignment and staying with my breath. Are your feet in line? Is your thigh as parallel to the floor as possible?

One of the reasons that it’s great to be taking basic level classes right now is that ummm…it’s hot as balls. While this sucks for generally living your life, it’s great for your mobility. You have such a great range of motion available to you that you can really refine and get deep into the stretch.

Leave a Reply

